Monthly Recap: January ‘20

Posted January 31, 2020 by Amber in Monthly Recap / 13 Comments

Monthly Recap is a bit of a self-explanatory feature where I recap my life, share blog posts you may have missed, give an overall count of my reading progress and more.

It’s been forever since I’ve done a monthly recap. Literally two years ago. How am I supposed to know what’s happened the past two years if I don’t write it down!? Not much changes in my life however, ha, so this will be mostly blog related.

As for my life, well, I saw L. L. McKinney, Megan Bannen and Sarah Henning at Barnes and Noble! It was super unexpected and exciting and I so would have missed it had Elle not tweeted about it. As well as Megan and Sarah who I hadn’t previously followed on Twitter.

Other than that though, I am one month closer to going to ALA in Chicago and I could not be more excited for that as well. It’s coming.

I’m still burning through audiobooks at work as always. I’ve given up my musicals and show-listens to listen to all the books I can. I’m tentatively trying to hit 150 books but my Goodreads goal is 100. Let’s just say I’m already 1/5 of the way there. Not too bad, right?

I had a nice four day weekend for Martin Luther King Jr’s day due to bad weather on the Friday before.

WordPress Followers (Total): 307

# of Blog Posts: 19

# of Reviews: 7

# of Comments: 14

Divider

 

# of Books Read:  22(!!)

I did super good on the audiobooks even with having a few unexpected days off of work! I did realize that checking out all the books from Hoopla at once was a bad idea because 1. I forgot when they were due back and listened to Overdrive ones first, then didn’t get a chance to listen to all of them. 2. Books from Hoopla can be checked out throughout the month. I won’t make this mistake in February.

The month is not over yet though, I still have 24 hours left when this goes up. I’m going to try to listen to two more audiobooks and kind of binge-read a book below. Cross your fingers for me. 😂 I’ll update the total at the end of tomorrow. If you want to know my thoughts on these books, I’ll be doing another Entertainment Recap towards the beginning of February, there’s a lot to be said.

Bonus Two Finished Books:

# of Books Started: 3

I feel like for what I’ve read of these books so far is that they are all very dark and I love it so much.

# of Books For Review: 6

* When You Were Everything via Random House Children’s

* The Henna Wars via Page Street Kids

* Girls With Razor Hearts from Simon and Schuster’s Children’s

* Unscripted via ABRAMS Kids

* What I Like About You via Simon and Schuster’s Children’s

* Cracked Up To Be via St. Martin’s

It was the month (the year?) to get all of the eARCs from Netgalley. I am so excited to read When You Were Everything, The Henna Wars and GIrls With Razor Hearts. I read Cracked Up To Be last year (month) but I was approved for this copy with the new cover and forward and I could not resist.

# of Books Bought: 6

I bought The Fault In Our Stars from Audible as it was on sale. I don’t know when I’ll (re)read it but… (isn’t that the usual book blogger’s way).

I’m trying out a new audiobook app called Libro and thanks to Jamie’s promo code, I was able to get three for the price of one! I’m so excited to listen to Wilder Girls, Dark and Deepest Read and Dealing In Dreams next month. I have a feeling that Dealing In Dreams will be a nice read-alike to We Set The Dark On Fire but I may be assuming too much. We shall see!

Dead Little Mean Girl and Ninth House both had Kindle book sales so I had to buy them, of course.

# of Books Gifted: 1

When The Stars Lead To You

Anna on Twitter had two Kindle codes for When The Stars Lead To You and I was lucky enough to get one! I’ve been hearing a lot of good things about this book. I actually meant to get it as the Book of The Month when it was available a while back but sadly, I forgot. Now I have a Kindle copy though which means… I can read it anytime (my super big TBR clears). Ahem. Anytime. If anyone wants to do a buddy read for it, I am so up for that.

Divider

What I Posted (1)

I posted a LOT this month and I am so proud of myself for doing it. I created a few new features and general posts: Monthly TBRs, Amber’s Television Thoughts and Entertainment Recap. I created my spin on mini reviews with Mini Indulgences, even though they’re not so mini. Let’s keep this progress up, yes? Side Note: I need to change a post title as well when I do more Wondrous Covers Wednesdays posts.

Features:

[Jan 5] December Entertainment Recap

[Jan 8] Looking Forward To: The Rest of January

[Jan 9] Monthly TBR: January ‘20

[Jan 12] Amber’s Television Thoughts (Part 1) – Thrillers (Inspired by Shannon’s post)

[Jan 15] Wondrous Covers Wednesday: Animated Edition (Part 1)/Illustrated

[Jan 17] More Than This Provincial Life: Ten Times I Related To Fiction A Little Too Closely

[Jan 22] Wondrous Covers Wednesday: You Look Familiar

[Jan 31] Monthly Recap: January (You’re hopefully reading this!)

 

Reviews:

[Jan 13] Raving Book Review: Sick Kids In Love by Hannah Moskowitz

[Jan 16] Raving Book Review: I Wish You All The Best by Mason Deaver

[Jan 20] Mini Indulgences: Five Amazing Books Starring Black Teens

I loved all (seven!) of the books I reviewed this month so much. They’re all so amazing.

 

Bookish Lists:

[Jan 2] Top Fifteen 2019 Books I Read Last Year

[Jan 7] Top Ten Books I’m Looking Forward To (Part 1)

[Jan 21] 29 More Contemporary Books I Can’t Wait For (Part 2)

[Jan 29] 58 Adult Fiction Books I  Can’t Wait To Read

I love creating these lists for books I want to read this year(?).

Other:

[Jan 14] 2020 Reading, Blogging and Writing Goals

[Jan 23] When Authors Unexpectedly Come To Town (with L. L. McKinney, Megan Bannen and Sarah Henning)

[Jan 27] My Bookish Survey For 2019

[Jan 30] 32 of My Favorite Covers Of 2019

Fun Fact: Megan used to be a librarian at the local library here and I went there all the time in high school so we probably unknowingly crossed paths.

Divider

My desire to watch Uptown Girls never ceases and have I (re)watched it yet? Not exactly, but I own it. On Itunes. As far as owning stuff on Itunes goes. I have been waiting forever for The Diary of a Teenage Girl to go on sale and finally hit the special price of $4.99.

Divider

What I've Been Watching

After a brief break, I finished the season 3 finale of Riverdale and honestly I think I needed a longer break. And alcohol. They have me hooked though. Again. I’m so sad but I also need to know what in the world is going on.

Veronica Mars saying “just when I thought I was out, they pull me back in”

I’ve been wanting finishing up the fourth season Fuller House and doing a rewatch of One Day At A Time with my mom (her first watch).

Divider

How was your first month of the new year? Did you read any good books? Watch any new movies? Have any new obsessions? I want to know in the comments. 🧡🧡

Posted January 31, 2020 by Amber in Monthly Recap / 13 Comments

Divider

13 responses to “Monthly Recap: January ‘20

  1. You’re making great progress on your reading goal if you’re already 1/5 of the way there and it’s still January. 🙂 I gave my husband a 3-month Audible subscription for Christmas and he’s been enjoying it. We usually get our audiobooks from our public library, but it can take a long time to get a book we want, and then it disappears after 2 weeks if it’s not renewable.

    I just finished reading Convenience Store Woman. It was okay, but kinda predictable. I’m really enjoying The Dearly Beloved now, about halfway in. And the rest of my books right now are nonfiction (my faves!). 🙂

    • Amber

      I am making ridiculously good progress! I’m so lucky I can listen at my work. Aw, I like Audible! I generally just use the library too but oh, you might see if there’s Hoopla available through the library. I only found out about it last month and it is a-mazing. Ugh, the waits on the books can totally suck.

      Ooh, I haven’t heard of those titles, as far as I know. I’ll look them up on Goodreads. I was seriously thinking about getting more into non-fiction but I’m not sure.

    • Amber

      Aw, I’m glad you’ve done some good reading too! I need to organize my books as well, I have them in two different spots right now. It’s so funny you mention organizing Goodreads shelves because I’ve been wanting to organize mine as well. Now those, are so, so, so ridiculously messy. A monthly update would be fun!

  2. You read some great books this past month! I think I got 20 done as well, or I’m finishing my #20 tonight. What’s going on with ALA in Chicago next month? I missed out on Midwinter this past week because I’m poor. I listen to audiobooks in the car all the time, and I’ve pretty much quit listening to new music because of it. Oh well. You can check out my wrap-up post in the link below!

    Lisa Mandina (Lisa Loves Literature) recently posted: January 2020 Wrap-Up Post and Looking Forward to February
    • Amber

      Oh my gosh, I’m so weird. Okay, nothing is going on with ALAAC, I was just (attempting) to say I’m one month closer to going. 😂 (Four months left). I totally relate to the poorness, it’s why I can only go to the Chicago ALA because it’s cheapest and closest. And I’ve still had to save up for a year to go. Ha. It’s a great stress but I’m sure it will be worth it… i am the same way with music! I quit listening to it a lot. There are so many albums I’m behind on, it’s a tragedy. I will look at your post! Thanks for stopping by! 🧡🧡

  3. Looks like you had an awesome reading month. That’s fantastic. I’d love to go to ALA this June since Chicago isn’t TOO far from me, but I have to see if it’ll work out. That’s awesome you’re going though! I’ve currently been obsessed with the TV show Prodigal Son. SO GOOD.

    -Lauren

    • Amber

      I had such an amazing reading month! Sick Kids In Love and I Wish You All The Best were a-mazing. Gah. I love them. Aw, it’d be so fun to see you at ALA if you end up going! I’ve heard of that show! I need to watch a trailer.

  4. Danielle Hammelef

    You had an amazing book month! I enjoy seeing all of those covers together. I have Turtles All the Way Down here, but sadly it still sits unread. My favorite book of January was an ARC of The Queen’s Assassin, which was my first book by this author and I now need book #2.

    • Amber

      I did have a fantastic book month! Ooh, I have Turtles All The Way Down on my self too! Thank you, audiobooks. It’s the only way I finally read it. Ooh, I keep seeing The Queen’s Assassin, I need to look into it more.

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)